Chris - The Legal Issues - A Prosecutor's Perspective

Alexander Hamilton

kiwifarms.net
Standard Lawyer Disclaimer: I'm a lawyer, but I'm not your lawyer. Nothing I post is legal advice. Nothing I post creates an attorney-client relationship.

So I've seen speculation (and some actual legal information from other lawyers) scattered throughout various threads, and I thought it might be useful/interesting to have a thread for legal issues.

I'm a prosecutor. Not in Virginia. That's about all I'm going to say on that, and you'll just have to take my word for it unless the admins care so much about me claiming that they demand to verify me somehow. And then I'll talk to them. This is my perspective on the legal side of this whole mess. If that's not something that's interesting to you, don't bother reading further.

POSSIBLE CHARGES

So, it looks like we've got multiple counts of some sort of rape and probably multiple counts of some sort of abuse/exploitation of an elderly person, and one count (so far) of violating an EPO.

What do I mean by some sort of rape? Well, as you're probably aware, the law doesn't actually treat rape as a single monolithic crime. And often the law has special rape laws for when someone appears to consent but is legally unable to, such as in the case of minors. You'll often see this referred to as statutory rape. Again, I'm not in Virginia and state laws are gonna vary.

Abuse/exploitation of an elderly person. At a bare minimum, it looks like financial abuse. Chris apparently has control of Barb's accounts and is liberal with them. It could be other kinds of abuse too, depending on what they can prove has been going on.